First awarded in 2005, this award is presented annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to basic or translational research in cancer.

The award and lecture are presented during the ASCO Annual Meeting and the recipient is highlighted in ASCO Daily News, on the ASCO website, and in other meeting publications. The recipient is required to attend the Annual Meeting and present a 30-minute lecture.

The award consists of a $10,000 honorarium, a commemorative plaque, and support to the recipient to attend the Annual Meeting in the year the award is conferred.


To be eligible for this award, a nominee

  • Is not required to be an ASCO member.
  • Is known for his/her major contributions in scientific research.
  • Must be a distinguished lecturer.

This award may only be awarded to an individual once. Please review the list of past recipients.



Candidates for the award are nominated by the ASCO membership and are considered by the Joint Special Awards Selection Committee. The Committee considers all nominations as they have been submitted; recommendations are then forwarded to the Board of Directors for final approval.

ASCO Board Members and Officers are not eligible to receive Special Awards from the time they are elected through the end of the calendar year in which their Board terms conclude. Joint Special Award Selection Committee members are not eligible to receive Special Awards during their service on the Committee.

Please send all inquiries about this award to Special Awards.

2023 Recipient
Alan Ashworth