ASCO to Present Dr. Deborah K. Mayer With the Joseph Simone Quality Care Award 

For immediate release


Vicki Kilpatrick
(571) 483-1368

ALEXANDRIA, Va. — At the 2023 ASCO Quality Care Symposium, ASCO will recognize Deborah K. Mayer, PhD, RN, AOCN, FAAN, with the Joseph Simone Quality Care Award and Lecture, which recognizes visionary oncology care providers who excel in quality care. Dr. Mayer will be the first nurse to receive this award. On Friday, October 27, 2023, at 10:45 AM ET, she will receive the award and present her lecture, “Reflections on Improving Cancer Care: How Can We Do Better for Our Patients and Ourselves?” The meeting will be held in Boston, MA, and online from October 27-28, 2023.

Dr. Mayer is the Frances Hill Fox Distinguished Professor Emeritus at the University of North Carolina (UNC) School of Nursing, Member of the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, and a Faculty Fellow at the M. Louise Fitzpatrick College of Nursing at Villanova University. She was formerly coordinator of the adult and gerontology nurse practitioner program at the UNC School of Nursing and Director of Cancer Survivorship at the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center.

As a pioneer in the field of cancer survivorship, Dr. Mayer has developed innovative interventions and programs to enhance the well-being of cancer survivors and their families and has also contributed to the advancement of cancer care delivery. She has had a distinguished career in oncology nursing, research, and advocacy, and as a cancer survivor, has unique insight into the needs and challenges of patients with cancer.

Dr. Mayer has served as the president of the Oncology Nursing Society (ONS), on the National Cancer Institute’s National Cancer Advisory Board (a Presidential appointment) and Board of Scientific Advisors, as Chair of the ASCO Survivorship Committee, and on Vice President Biden’s Cancer Moonshot Blue Ribbon Panel. She also served as the Interim Director of the Office of Cancer Survivorship at NCI. Dr. Mayer is a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing, has served as the Editor for the Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing (CJON) and authored more than 200 cancer publications. She has received the ONS Lifetime Achievement Award and the Ellen L. Stovall Award from the National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship.

An ASCO Special Award, the Joseph Simone Quality Care Award was established in 2016 and created in honor of Joseph V. Simone, MD, FASCO, to recognize his significant and enduring contributions to the quality and safety of cancer care.  

Nominations for the 2024 ASCO Special Awards are being accepted until September 30, 2023.  


About ASCO: 

Founded in 1964, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, Inc. (ASCO®) is committed to making a world of difference in cancer care. As the world’s leading organization of its kind, ASCO represents nearly 45,000 oncology professionals who care for people living with cancer. Through research, education, and promotion of the highest-quality patient care, ASCO works to conquer cancer and create a world where cancer is prevented or cured, and every survivor is healthy. ASCO is supported by its affiliate organization, the Conquer Cancer Foundation. Learn more at, explore patient education resources at www.Cancer.Net, and follow us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and YouTube