Created in 2021, this award recognizes ASCO members who have made significant and measurable contributions towards increasing equity, diversity and inclusion within the field of oncology, or increasing access to equitable care for cancer patients.

Recipients of this award have demonstrated their dedication to activities that foster and promote equitable treatment and care for historically under-represented groups through efforts within their practice, advocacy, applied research, volunteer, mentorship or other activities that create equitable, sustainable, and measurable change in the field of oncology.

The award is presented during the ASCO Annual Meeting and the recipient is highlighted in ASCO Daily News, on the ASCO website, and in other Annual Meeting publications. The recipient is invited to participate in a moderated panel discussion featuring special award recipients and focusing on leadership and mentorship

The award consists of a $5,000 honorarium, a commemorative plaque, and support to the recipient to attend the Annual Meeting in the year the award is conferred.


To be eligible for this award, candidates

  • Must be an ASCO member
  • Have championed initiatives which
    • Increase equitable access to high-quality care;
    • Increase equitable access to research;
    • Decrease structural barriers to access of care;
    • Support and increase diversity and inclusion within the field of oncology; or
    • Increase awareness and actions of health equity or workforce diversity through advocacy efforts



Candidates for the award are nominated by the ASCO membership and are considered by the Joint Special Awards Selection Committee. The Committee considers all nominations as they have been submitted; recommendations are then forwarded to the Board of Directors for final approval.

ASCO Board Members and Officers are not eligible to receive Special Awards from the time they are elected through the end of the calendar year in which their Board terms conclude. Joint Special Award Selection Committee members are not eligible to receive Special Awards during their service on the Committee.

Please send all inquiries about this award to Special Awards.

2024 Recipient
Lori J. Pierce, MD, FASTRO, FASCO