ASCO 2023 Advocate of the Year

ASCO's Advocacy Activities

ASCO members have numerous opportunities to advocate at the federal and state level on behalf of patients with cancer. These activities include grassroots advocacy; direct advocacy; engaging in grasstops advocacy; speaking on behalf of ASCO at Congressional briefings or hearings; and contributing to the ASCO Association Political Action Committee (PAC). We are pleased to recognize the following ASCO volunteers who exemplified cancer care advocacy in 2023.



- Grassroots Advocacy: Actions taken by a group to contact elected officials online, on the phone, or by mail.
- Direct Advocacy: Actions include face-to-face meetings with elected officials or their staff.
- Grasstops Advocacy: Utilizing pre-existing relationships with lawmakers to advance ASCO's priorities.

Advocate of the Year: Jason Westin, MD, MS, FACP



Dr. Westin has served ASCO as an invaluable advocate for cancer care professionals and their patients. His run for Congress in 2017, his service on and leadership of the ASCO Government Relations Committee during the past 5 years, and his role as an inaugural member of the ASCO Association PAC Advisory Council demonstrate his dedication to advocacy. In 2023, Dr. Westin represented oncology professionals from around the country in his testimony before the Senate Finance Committee on the ongoing drug shortages crisis. He has become a trusted resource for lawmakers and their staff in communicating how policies will impact cancer patients in their districts and states. In addition to Congressional testimony, Dr. Westin contacted his lawmakers via the ACT Network, participated in the Advocacy Summit and federal agency meetings, actively engaged on social media, and contributed to the ASCO Association PAC — all underscoring his commitment to advancing cancer policies through advocacy. He currently serves as Past Chair of ASCO's Government Relations Committee.

Dr. Westin is the Director of the Lymphoma Clinical Research Program, Section Chief for Aggressive Lymphoma, and Professor of Medicine at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in the Department of Lymphoma and Myeloma. He earned his medical degree from the University of Florida, completed his residency at the University of North Carolina, and his fellowship at MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas.

President's Circle

ASCO advocates who participate in 4 or more of ASCO's advocacy activities, including the ACT Network and at least 2 activities involving meetings with lawmakers.

R. Donald Harvey, PharmD, FCCP, FASCO, BCOP Marilyn Heine, MD Jasmine Kamboj, MD, MBBS Amanda Nizam, MD Sumanta Pal, MD, FASCO Banu Symington, MD, MACP Mark Walshauser, MD Robin Zon, MD, FASCO, FACP

Speaker's Circle

ASCO advocates who participate in 3 or more of ASCO's advocacy activities, including the ACT Network and meetings with lawmakers.

Neeraj Agarwal, MD, FASCO Anas Al-Janadi, MD Edward Balaban, DO, FACP, FASCO Carolina Bernabe, MD Daniel Carrizosa, MD, MS Fumiko Chino, MD Mehmet Copur, MD, FACP John Cox, DO, MBA, MACP, FASCO Devika Das, MBBS Fernando Diaz, MD Emily Dressler, PhD Susan Escudier, MD, FACP Sanjay Goel, MD, MS Stephanie Graff, MD, FACP, FASCO Xylina Gregg, MD Jessica Hawley, MD, MS Arielle Heeke, MD Mark Henderson, MD Carolyn Hendricks, MD, FASCO Paul Hesketh, MD, FASCO Karan Jatwani, MD Lee Jones, MBA Sharad Khurana, MD, MSc Steve Lee, MD, FACP Noelle LoConte, MD, FASCO Ana Maria Lopez, MD, MPH Shail Maingi, MD

Joshua Mammen, MD, PhD, FACS Rami Manochakian, MD, FASCO Bradley McGregor, MD Charles Miller, MD, FACP, FASCO Joseph Muscato, MD Kurt Oettel, MD, MBA, FACP, FASCO Ray Page, DO, PhD, FACOI, FASCO Martin Palmeri, MD, MBA Julia Parrish, MD, BS Manali Patel, MD Alejandra Perez, MD George Riddle, PhD Jerome Seid, MD Melanie Sheen, MD Heloisa Soares, MD Ishwaria Subbiah, MD, MS Latha Subramanian, MBChB Ashley Sumrall, MD, FACP, FASCO Wade Swenson, MD, MBA, MPH, ACHE, FACP Winston Tan, MD, FACP, MS, FASCO Laura Tenner, MD, MPH Alexandra Thomas, MD, FACP Ana Velazquez Manana, MD, MSc, MS Everett Vokes, MD, FASCO Jeremy Warner, MD, MS, FASCO Ruiling Yuan, MD Corrine Zarwan, MD

Senator's Circle

ASCO advocates who participate in more than one of ASCO's advocacy activities.

Carryn Anderson, MD Alan Baltz, MD Eric Bernicker, MD Lora Black, CCRP, MPH, OCN, RN Debra Brandt, DO Howard "Skip" Burris, MD, FACP, FASCO Paul Celano, MD, FASCO Mark Chang, DO Gary Cohen, MD, FASCO Robert Daly, MD, MBA Susan Dent, MD Natalie Dickson, MD, MMHC, FACP, FASCO Thomas George, MD, FACP Laura Goff, MD Richard Goldberg, MD, FASCO, FACP Denis Hammond, MD, FASCO Tara Henderson, MD, MPH, FASCO Sakeer Hussain, MD Suneel Kamath, MD Sameer Keole, MD Mary Klix, MD, FACP John Knecht, MD Miriam Knoll, MD Michael Link, MD, FASCO Arturo Loaiza-Bonilla, MD, Med, FACP Gilberto Lopes, MD, MBA, FASCO Mary Kay Makarewicz Issam Makhoul, MD Merry Jennifer Markham, MD, FACP, FASCO Thomas Marsland, MD, FASCO Khalid Matin, MD

Barbara McAneny, MD, MACP, FASCO Therese Mulvey, MD, FASCO Mary Muscato, MD Kristina Novick, MD Lauren Nye, MD Raymond Osarogiagbon, FACP, MBBS, FASCO David Oubre, MD Taofeek Owonikoko, MD, PhD, FASCO, MS Brian Persing, MD Todd Pickard, FASCO, PA-C Lori Pierce, MD, FASTRO, FASCO Andrew Pierson, MD Blase Polite, MD, MPP, FASCO Seth Pollack, MD Joshua Reuss, MD Gladys Rodriguez, MD, FASCO Joel Saltzman, MD, FASCO Joan Schiller, MD, FASCO Lynn Schuchter, MD, FASCO Erin Schwab, MD, BS, MPH Piyush Srivastava, MD, FASCO Walter Stadler, MD Apostolia Tsimberidou, MD, PhD, FASCO Catherine Van Poznak, MD, FASCO H. James Wallace, MD Jeanna Walsh, MD Eric Winer, MD, FASCO Karen Winkfield, MD, PhD, FASCO Joanna Yang, MD, MPH Peter Yu, MD, FACP, FASCO