February 11, 2022

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi

Speaker

U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Charles Schumer

Majority Leader U.S. Senate

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy

Papublican Loader

Republican Leader

U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Mitch McConnell

Republican Leader

U.S. Senate

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leaders Schumer, McConnell, and McCarthy:

On behalf of the undersigned organizations, who collectively deliver life changing cancer treatments to over one million Americans annually, we write to thank you for your ongoing support for cancer patients receiving radiation therapies and urge continued action on behalf of patients and clinics. The radiation oncology stakeholder community includes physicians, medical physicists, medical dosimetrists, medical device manufacturers, radiation therapists, radiation oncology administrators, practice administrators, and patient advocates, who work together to protect patients' access to life-saving cancer care.

We appreciate Congress' support of the radiation oncology community's value-based payment goals, as demonstrated by the passage of bipartisan legislation in 2015 and 2018 to freeze Medicare payments and allow for a smooth transition away from a fee-for service model. Similarly, we are grateful that the Protecting Medicare and American Farmers from Sequester Cuts Act delayed the implementation of the radiation oncology alternative payment model (RO-Model) until January 1, 2023, which provided the stakeholder community, Congress, and related agencies, renewed opportunity to make critical changes to the RO-Model and stabilize payments for clinics.

The undersigned members of the radiation oncology community remain united around a legislative proposal that would help the country's radiation therapy clinics continue to provide life-saving cancer care. We ask that Congress build off these prior bipartisan successes to pass legislation that:

- freezes most radiation therapy payments under the fee schedule for five years at 2021 levels,
- reduces the RO Model discount factors to 3%, and
- restores the 5% APM incentive payment to eligible freestanding centers.

By freezing fee schedule payment rates, community-based practices will finally experience payment stability, allowing them to maintain services and recover from pandemic revenue declines. Additionally, a payment freeze will allow for a clean evaluation of the RO Model to better inform the future of value-based payment models. Reducing the RO Model discount factors to 3% will more evenly distribute the payment impact across Model participants, while still producing approximately \$100 million in Medicare savings over 5 years. Finally, restoring

the 5% APM incentive payment would ensure the RO Model adheres to Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act requirements.

Our organizations welcome the opportunity to partner with Congress and related federal agencies to advance critical reforms associated with the establishment of a viable alternative payment model for radiation oncology. We appreciate Congress' commitment to high quality cancer care and promoting payment stability in radiation oncology for the millions of patients, and their families, who are battling cancer.

Sincerely,

Accuray

AdvaMed

American Association of Medical Dosimetrists

American Association of Physicists in Medicine

American College of Radiology

American Society for Radiation Oncology

American Society of Radiologic Technologists

Association for Clinical Oncology

Cancer Support Community

Children's Cancer Cause

Community Oncology Alliance

Elekta

GenesisCare

Isoray

MGMA: Medical Group Management Association

National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship

Providence

RefleXion

Society for Radiation Oncology Administrators

The Radiosurgery Society

The US Oncology Network

Varian, a Siemens Healthineers Company

ViewRay

CC Senate Finance Committee Chair Ron Wyden

Senate Finance Committee Ranking Member Mike Crapo

House Ways and Means Committee Chair Richard Neal

House Ways and Means Committee Ranking Member Kevin Brady

House Energy and Commerce Committee Chair Frank Pallone

House Energy and Commerce Committee Ranking Member Cathy McMorris Rodgers